Spoofing Lady Antebellum: Need. Caffeine. Now.

I had some time on my hands while watching the Diamondbacks game and wrote a spoof of the Lady Antebellum song Need You Now. Before going any farther, I have nothing against the band or song – I was just amusing myself. If you haven’t heard the song before, please listen to it before reading further.

My version is meant to be sung with just as much sincerity and drama as the original. This is a serious matter and should be treated as such. Enjoy.

Need. Caffeine. Now.
by Devin McIntyre

Early morning wake up
Rushing to get out the door
Passing up the cafe cause
I can’t spend anymore

And I wonder if I’ll
Make it through the day
I know it won’t be easy

It’s a quarter after four
I wish I was asleep
And I need you now
Said I wouldn’t spend
But I’m off the deep end
And I need you now

And I don’t know how
I can do without
I just need caffeine

Editing some sound bites
Can’t remember what this one is for
Trying to be pleasant
And not look like I’m at death’s door

And I wonder if I’ll
Make it through the day
I know it won’t be easy

It’s a quarter after nine
The show is going long
And I need you now
Said I wouldn’t spend
But I’m off the deep end
And I need you now

And I don’t know how
I can do without
I just need caffeine

Whoa, whoa
Guess I’ll have to buy
A cheap coffee maker

It’s a quarter after ten
I’m on my way home
And I need you now
And I said I wouldn’t spend
But I’m off the deep end
And I need you now

And I don’t know how
I can do without
I just need caffeine
I just need caffeine

Oh baby, I need you now

When I’m a rich and famous song writer I’ll remember you.

2 responses to “Spoofing Lady Antebellum: Need. Caffeine. Now.

  1. Looking forward to hearing you sing this live and in person:)

  2. Reblogged this on d.k. pope and commented:

    Today was not my own and five minutes ago I looked at the clock and was shocked to see it read past 6pm. And I’d completely forgotten about writing so I offer an old post of mine. It goes out to all students finishing their semesters. Good luck. You probably need some coffee (speaking from my past experiences.)

Leave a Reply

