Biased

I discovered this amidst my notes from JMC301: Intermediate Reporting and Writing.

I think I’m developing a bias against reading/talking about bias in journalism.

I’m over it.

As a college junior is this opinion premature? Yes, but I can’t help it.

Bias is bad, bias is human, bias permeates everything. Blah, blah, blah.

I understand (and put into practice) that when reporting I need to keep my personal opinions out of my work. That is perfectly just. What I don’t like is when bias is confused with personality and uniqueness.

If being bias free means my writing needs to be dry and boring, I’ll quit journalism right here and now.

Journalism was never meant to be boring. It was meant to test the creative abilities of reporters by needing to be both interesting and opinion free.

Anyone can spit facts onto a page. It takes skill to engage and inform consumers in a memorable way.

I must have been frustrated when writing this…

Leave a Reply

